Leopoldine Hetzendorfer (Hofbauer)

Here is another feature of my blog – I hope, you like it!

I will also use my blog to introduce my ancestors, starting with:

hetzendorfer_leopoldine

Leopoldine Hetzendorfer (maiden name Hofbauer) was born in 1854 in the Northern area of Lower Austria. Age 24, she married Anton Hetzendorfer whith whom she had seven children. In 1904, her husband passed away.

In 1913 (when she was 58 years old), the emigrated with most of her children to the US. From Ellis island records  (Ellis Island Passenger Search) I know, that her ship “Barbarossa” was sailing from Bremen, Germany to New York. The emigrants founded a weaving mill in Buffalo.

Leopoldine Hetzendorfer returned home in 1943, aged 88 where she passed away.

She and her family have introduced me to American genealogical research which is again fascinating, although different from Austrian, as it is more based on census records and civil registration (at least as far as I can tell) whereas in Austria, the main information was recorded in Church books.

Do you also have ancestors who emigrated from Austria? I’d love to hear their story!

One thought on “Leopoldine Hetzendorfer (Hofbauer)

  1. Pingback: What was our ancestor’s cause of death? – Julie’s Treasure Chest

Leave a Reply

