Online Indexing at Familysearch

Yesterday, I discovered a new functionality at familysearch: Web Indexing. It is easy to register and there are comprehensive explanations available.

After a “Guided Tour—Introduction to Indexing”, there is a small selection of batches for indexing which all take about 30 minutes. You can choose different difficulty levels.

As a start, I chose the following batch: “US, Pennsylvania—World War II Draft Registrations, 1940–1945”. This batch included 10 machine-written cards of which you see images and which you can zoom in easily. At the beginning, there are project specific instructions about how and what to index. There are many help buttons and functions, if you don’t know what exactly should be entered in the different fields. After 20 minutes, I finished the cards and it felt good!

Subsequently, the selection of projects was bigger and there was even one Austrian project: The church books of the Diocese Gurk (Carinthia). I could not resist, although it was intermediate level. This batch was not as easily readable as the first one, but I got through ok.

I really like the Web Indexing Function of Familysearch. It is well done and easy.

However, I also have to mention that I can now much better acknowledge the work all the researchers out there are doing, when they are indexing documents. It is hard work and now that I tried it, I know it is harder than I imagined it! I have to say a big THANK YOU to all indexing researchers. Without you, I would not have all the information in my database that I have today!

Leave a Reply

